Text Resize

-A +A
Bookmark and Share

Mayor Moves to Reform District's Boards and Commissions

Tuesday, March 25, 2014

Mayor Moves to Reform District's Boards and Commissions

Boards and Commissions Reform Act of 2013

In an effort to streamline the DC government, Mayor Vincent C. Gray announced plans to abolish 32 of the District’s more than 200 Mayor-appointed boards and commissions and to merge four statehood commissions.

“I believe this action will lead to a more efficient and effective DC government for the residents of our city,” Mayor Gray said. “These changes strike the right balance between ensuring our residents are able to provide critical input and allowing our government to move forward expeditiously. Board and commission members provide invaluable service to the District by advising elected officials and residents on a variety of significant matters.”

The Mayor’s action is the result of an extensive review of all the District’s Mayor-appointed panels by the Office of Boards and Commissions (OBC). The review showed that many boards and commissions have long since fulfilled their mandate, no longer serve an important purpose, or have been dormant for years. In some cases, board members have not been appointed in decades. In September 2012, OBC published its initial recommendations for reform and consolidation, opening a 30-day comment period seeking input from the public. After considering the feedback received from residents, OBC revised its final recommendations to the Mayor – and in several instances now recommends keeping some boards intact.

The following eight boards were abolished by Mayor's Order 2012-222, dated December 14, 2012:

1. District of Columbia Youth Investment Collaborative,

2. District of Columbia Resident Council Advisory Board,

3. Mayor’s International Advisory Committee,

4. Green Collar Jobs Advisory Council,

5. Historical Records Advisory Board,

6. Mayor’s Youth Substance Abuse Prevention Advisory Council,

7. Board of Appeals and Review, and

8. District of Columbia Vehicle Theft Prevention Council.

The remaining 32 boards that the Mayor recommends abolishing are part of the “Boards and Commissions Reform Act of 2013,” which was introduced in the DC Council in January 2012. They are:

1.      Advisory Board of Vocational Education and Skills Training

2.      Advisory Committee on Acupuncture

3.      Advisory Committee on Anesthesiologist Assistants

4.      Advisory Committee on Naturopathic Medicine

5.      Advisory Committee on Physician Assistants

6.      Advisory Committee on Polysomnography

7.      Advisory Committee on Surgical Assistants

8.      Board of Trustees of the Tobacco Settlement Trust Fund

9.      Choice in Drug Treatment Advisory Commission

10.    Citizen Advisory Committee to the Soil and Water Conservation District

11.    College Savings Program Advisory Board

12.    Comprehensive Homicide Elimination Strategy Task Force

13.    District of Columbia Cable Television Advisory Committee

14.    District of Columbia Securities Advisory Committee

15.    District of Columbia Small and Local Business Opportunity Commission

16.    District of Columbia Unemployment Compensation Board

17.    Environmental Planning Commission

18.    Gas Station Advisory Board

19.    Housing Authority Advisory Committee

20.    Library Enhancement Task Force

21.    Make a Difference Selection Committee

22.    Notary Public Board of Review

23.    Occupational Safety and Health Commission

24.    Public School Modernization Advisory Committee

25.    Recreation Assistance Board

26.    Security Officer Advisory Commission

27.    Technology Opportunity Development Task Force

28.    Tenant Advisory Council

29.    Statehood Commission

30.    Statehood Compact Commission

31.    District of Columbia Statehood Delegation Fund Commission

32.    51st State Commission

In addition, the bill will merge four statehood commissions with similar purposes, the 51st Commission, the District of Columbia Statehood Delegation Fund Commission, the Statehood Commission and the Statehood Compact Commission. The four commissions should be merged into a new 51st State Commission.